4 Levels of Human Development – Part 1

Leadership Effectiveness begins with you! Assessing self and consciously choosing who you want to be in your business and personal relationships is foundational to personal mastery.  Great Leaders challenge themselves regularly, taking their own temperature on self awareness.  They listen, look in the mirror, get curious and course correct when needed.

Inspire yourself and be the inspiration and mirror for others around you to rise up and be their best selves every day.

In this first of four posts on the 4 Levels of Human Development, I’d like to highlight the 4 levels up front that we’ll be exploring together.

Share Yourself
blog arrow
Create Yourself
blog arrow
Choose Yourself
blog arrow
Know Yourself

Let’s get started!

Level 1 – Know Yourself:

Knowing self and the connection to human spirit.  Our lifelong journey of self-development can find us circling back and reflecting on who we are being at various times in our lives.  Are you looking to be inspired or to inspire others?  Check in with yourself and be the change you want to see in the world.  As you learn, grow and change, some questions you might find yourself asking at this level might be…

  • Who am I?
  • What is my current reality?
  • What do I want?
  • Is there something missing?

A colleague recently asked me what the most influential book was that I read in 2012.  Being an avid reader I hesitated to quickly give an answer, as I wanted to give all books read a moment of reflection.  Such a simple question got me to thinking about WHY I’m choosing what I’m choosing.  After all, the most influential book over an entire year – I’d better have a compelling reason for my choice, right?  Well, as it happens, I do.

Gifts of Imperfection book coverTaking a true assessment of self and challenging self-limiting beliefs head on is not easy!  Every transformation begins with know yourself.   “Gifts of Imperfection” by Brene Brown is a jewel in this arena.  Brene speaks to the heart of accepting ourselves for all of our perceived flaws as well as our places of greatness with a writing style that welcomes the reader to a journey of awareness, acceptance and self-love.

In this world acclaimed TedX video, Brene speaks to one of the most precious gifts to come from her research on Shame: Vulnerability.

The hierarchy of human development gives us a clear path to set intentions and mindfully explore what is needed here now.  While allowing yourself to be vulnerable as you stretch and strengthen your uncertainty muscle, the path for transformation begins.  Sometimes we just “let go” of what is not working in our lives and other times “letting it be” resonates.  Either way, getting out of a stuck place often begins with looking in the mirror of self-awareness and “Gifts of Imperfection” has proven time and again to be a wholehearted and resonant mirror for this exploration.

Stay tuned for The 4 Levels of Human Development – Part 2 where we’ll explore “Choose Yourself” in more detail.  In the meantime if you’d like to connect for a more in depth conversation, give me a call or email me and we can talk about designing a lifestyle and leadership coaching relationship that is unique for you. I would love to hear from you!

What is needed here now?

Circle of Life

Let’s connect for a more in depth conversation and discuss designing a lifestyle and leadership development plan that is unique for you and/or your team.

You may also like to Join our mailing list to receive our “Living – Learning – Loving” newsletter.  Each month, we’ll explore a new theme with a selection of additional resources featured.

Live inspired!

Email me

Engage – Empower – Energize

Engage, Empower, Energize

Leave a Reply